z4mod – a quick update

Well, z4mod seems to be catching on thanks to RyanZA excellent web interface which allows everyone (ie, not linuxers) to patch their kernel easily with z4mod. This enhancement boosted z4mod usage and I am proud to say this is my most popular project yet. The only problem I’m facing is time – my TODO list is getting bigger and bigger, work gets stacked as I neglect everything and try to squeeze some more work on z4mod…

The new z4mod version (which was secretly scheduled for earlier this week… good thing i kept it a secret ๐Ÿ™‚ ) is taking shape slowly and fixes many of the problems our beta-testers reported – initramfs is getting too big with patched kernels. I also reduced memory consumption by compiling a static uclibc busybox to do only the init wrapper tasks – thats 1.5MB less memory used by our z4mod patched initramfs.

Also, we modularized the entire process so people can select which options they would like to apply into the patched z4mod initramfs, and same goes for the update.zip files – we will allow users to create on the fly update.zip files which will convert whatever partitions they choose, install optional binaries (root, busybox, etc) and more.

And lastly – a request to the readers of this blog – if any of you can make a nice z4mod logo I’d appreciate it, since the current one stinks (yea, I made it…).

6 Comments

  1. Hy z4ziggy.

    I’ve searched everywhere. But could not find a paypal account of yours.
    I really want to donate you some $ (or โ‚ฌ) cause you made my life easier with redbend_ua.

    Thank you very much for your great work and especially for sharing it!

    1. Thanks, but no need. You can donate to a humanitarian organisation at your choice though ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I hope you checked my latest z4root on the market (root almost all Android devices, except for HTC devices) and soon a z4mod app made by RyanZA to ease the lagfix implementation for non-techie users.

      I hope by finishing up z4mod, I can move on to other interests of mine ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi

    Is there any way to get some output/console messages out of the Samsung version of Android? for some reason the output of Ryan’s web thing hangs (I5800XXJPA/B kernels), I don’t even know if it’s an init problem (error/crash) or a repacking problem (kernel panic); right now I’m waiting for my TVbig PC to finish compiling an arm toolchain so I can use z4mod directly (believe it or not, there are still people using 32bit CPUs :P)

    Cheers

      1. check your github ๐Ÿ™‚

        I’ll need to get someone with an arm cortex device to test the busybox I built to replace yours (uclibc ARM generic, only the commands needed for z4root init, came out around 150 KB) before I replace it, on my computer phone it works (TM)

        still can’t get it to boot, but I’m probably much closer now ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. nice work!

        I will be working on the git tomorrow to fix some issues with ext4 issues on z4mod git and z4control.

        a new POC code will be released very soon – z4exploit. More details heading the community way…

Leave a Reply

